Barrow Runners

The 'Run'down, 28th December 2017

Barrow Runners Boxing Day Handicap

There was a great turn out and a bright sunny morning for the annual Barrow Runners Boxing Day Handicap earlier this week, and 40 Barrow Runners took part in the most festive event in the race calendar!

Results are as follows:

Martin Makin 36.34

Chris Neil 37.06

Dan Roberts 37.44

Sam Cleveland 38.46

Chris Trinder 40.38

Rob Beers 41.18

Malcolm Harris 44.00

Chris Trzcinski 44.38

Ian Fisk 45.08

Paul Leaney 45.44

Mark Sadler 46.11

Will Pattison 46.28

Paul Meneely 46.40

Mark Snutch 46.52

Tom Worn 47.12

Fiona Mee 47.40

Bridie D'Arcy 48.30

Ian Cox 50.44

Sarah Bumpus-Bosch 50.48

Simon Cole 52.41

Karl Stones 53.14

Jon Walsh 53.15

Barrie Edmonds 53.49

Rebecca Edmonds 55.15

Helen Taylor 55.15

Victoria Harris 55.26

Caroline Richardson 55.44

Chris Murray 56.03

Bill Phillips 57.34

Cheika Kennedy 58.17

Sue Taylor 59.45

Eddie Griffiths 1.01.21

Steve Bailey 1.01.56

Christine Spencer 1.03.59

Kath Spencer 1.03.59

Julie Pattison 1.03.59

Emma Spencer-Cumberland 1.04.33

Alison Johnston 1.05.29

Amanda Stanbridge 1.12.22

Julie Felstead 1.12.23

Parkrun - Results for 23rd December 2017


Dawn Storer 36:11


James Smith 18:35

Long Eaton

Mat Richardson 21:08

Melton Mowbray

Thomas Worn 27:48


Mark Sadler 23:21


Ian Paramore 19:45 - Course PB!

Ian Fisk 22:00

Monique Raaijmakers 26:48

Bill Phillips 27:22

Kathryn Eastwood 29:53 - Course PB!

Sharon Gamble 31:47

Amanda Stanbridge 32:48

Julie Felstead 32:51

Gillian Hailes 34:28

Parkrun - Results for 25th December 2017


Ann Hillier 22:00

Nigel Hillier 22:10


Chris Trzcinski 24:34

Dawn Storer 36:58


Harley Leggett 22:38

Warwick Annual Christmas Day Run

Jon Radley completed the 3.7 miles course in 26.22.

Cross Country news from Andy Price, Cross Country Captain

New Ladies Cross Country Representative

Our new rep is Fiona Mee.

Championships are at Parliament Hill, London on Saturday 24th February 2018. It's a great experience for anyone - contact Andy Price if you're interested.

Leicestershire & Rutland AA 92nd Cross Country Championships and Barrow Runners Winter Championship

Saturday 6th January 2018 at Rotherby Lodge Farm, Rotherby, LE14 2LL.

Derby Runner League - Remaining races:

21/01/2018 Allestree Park

18/02/2018 Grace Dieu Manor School

11/03/2018 Bosworth

Winter 2017/18 Club Championships

06 Jan - Leics XC Champs, Rotherby

21 Jan - Derby Runner Allestree Park

10 Feb - Long Eaton Parkrun

18 Feb - Derby Runner Grace Dieu

04 Mar - Keyworth Trail 15k

Check out the new Winter 2017 Club Championships page for the full list of championship races, the rules and leader table.

Upcoming races

31 December – Bowstones Fell Race, Poynton

31 December – Huncote Hash

3 January – Leicester 5K, Race 3

Hopefully we have included all members racing over the last week. We always check results from all the races on our club calendar, but if you are racing further afield, please let us know how you got on either on Facebook or to before Sunday night to be included in this week's roundup.

Thursday 28th December 2017

Claire Armitage

Photo courtesy of Andrew Unitt

Coming Up

Club Training
Tuesday, 23 April 19:00
Barrow - Humphrey Perkins School

Club Session
Thursday, 25 April 19:00

65th Three Peaks Race
Saturday, 27 April
Playing Fields, Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorks

Shropshire Way Ultra
Saturday, 27 April
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire

Kinder Downfall
Sunday, 28 April
Scout Hut, Swallow House Lane,Hayfield, Derbs

Leicester`s Big 10k
Sunday, 28 April
Abbey Park, Leicester, LE1