Winter 2019/20 Club Championship

  1. There are 7 cross country races selected and listed below (spread across November to March).
  2. To complete the championship, runners must run at least 4 of the 7 races, where the best 4 will count.
  3. Scoring is based on finishing positions in age categories from official race results, i.e. fastest Barrow Male and Female V40 will both get 100 points, 2nd fastest Barrow Male and Female V40 will both get 99 points and so on... Likewise the fastest Barrow Male and Female V50 will both get 100 points, 2nd fastest Barrow Male and Female V50 will both get 99 points, and so on...
  4. Chip timing is not available for cross country races so points are awarded for times using the Gun time. Note: please respect traditional starting positions where the fastest runners start at the front, followed by mid packers and the slower runners towards the back.
  5. The tables are split Male/Female then by age categories. Although the Derby Runner League results are split into 5 year categories, this championship will be split into 10 year gaps, starting with the seniors then V40-V80 plus junior.
  6. Table updates and publishing will be as soon as possible after official results are available.
  7. 2019/20 winter events and dates are as follows:

Championship races

  1. 17th Nov 2019 - Derby Runner, Holly Hayes Wood, Whitwick.
  2. 8th Dec 2019 - Derby Runner, Bradgate Park.
  3. 4th Jan 2020 (date TBC) - Leicestershire Championships @ Rotherby.
  4. 12th Jan 2020 - Derby Runner, Martinshaw Wood, Groby.
  5. 26th Jan 2020 - Derby Runner, Grace Dieu.
  6. 16th Feb 2020 - Derby Runner, Bagworth Heath.
  7. 1st Mar 2020 - Derby Runner, Bosworth Battlefield.

If a race is cancelled then the rearranged fixture will count towards the Championship. If there is no rearranged fixture the Midlands Cross Country Championships will count as the substitute race. This is on 25th January 2020 at Prestwold Hall.

If a second race is cancelled and does not get rearranged then the National Championships will count as the substitute race. This is on 22nd February 2020 at Wollaton Hall, Nottingham.

General rules of prizes/awards

  1. The club maintain two championship tables for each age category: Male and Female.
  2. Championship tables are to be used to determine category winners. There is no extra prize for the overall winner.
  3. Prizes allocated to 1st place Male and 1st place Female in each age category: Junior, Senior, V40, V50, V60, V70, V80
  4. Age categories for prizes based on age on the date of the first championship race.
  5. The prize giving ceremony will be given at the Barrow Spring social night.
  6. Any challenge should be made within 7 days/before the next race (whichever is soonest) to
  7. The committees decision is final.

Scoring system

  1. Members to complete at least 4 out of 7 listed races, the best 4 will count.
  2. You must be a Barrow Runners member at the time of the event to score and run in Barrow colours.
  3. 2nd claim runners will count towards the Winter Championship.
  4. Scoring based on the gun time of Barrow Runners from the organisers race results e.g. 100 points to the fastest Barrow finisher (Male and Female), 99 for second and so on.
  5. If 2 runners share the same time the higher points will be given to the position awarded in the results.
  6. Where the final score for a prize is tied, award based on most head to head victories. If it remains a tie, award is shared.
  7. Where there is no category winner due to insufficient races completed then no prize will be given.

Current standings

View the Current Standings.